• Hunter's Health Hacks
  • Posts
  • šŸŗšŸ™…ā€ā™‚ļø How To Avoid Alcohol In A World Made For Drinkers

šŸŗšŸ™…ā€ā™‚ļø How To Avoid Alcohol In A World Made For Drinkers

Escape the matrix

I know A LOT of guys who way overdid it with the booze.

Comes with the territory of playing college footballā€¦

And the celebrations that would come after a victory šŸŗ

Itā€™s funny - youā€™d think as an elite-level college athlete with a potential future in the NFL these guys would do EVERYTHING in their power to maintain their health.

Which includes, you know, NOT pouring pure poison down your throat.

Yet thatā€™s exactly what many of them didā€¦

And in copious amounts šŸ¤¦

Donā€™t get me wrong - there were a lot of guys who were ruthlessly disciplined and made the conscious decision NOT to succumb to the sauceā€¦

But a lot of those dudes just couldnā€™t help themselves.

And theyā€™re not alone.

According to one report from Northumbria University in the UK, a whopping 85%  of team sports participants were classified as having Alcohol Use Disorder šŸ˜³

To be fair, thatā€™s a survey of all team sports at all levels.

But I can tell you right now, while it may not be as prevalent at the higher levels, itā€™s still a MASSIVE problem (and yes, itā€™s on this side of the pond).

And I can also tell you that this goes WAY beyond sports.

āŒ 6% of the US population have alcohol use disorder (including 1 in 12 men)

āŒ 25% of adults binge drink in any given month

āŒ Death related to alcohol is the third leading cause of preventable death according to some statistics

The bottom line is that alcohol is EVERYWHERE.

Itā€™s baked into our social functions (ever been to a dry wedding?  Me neither)

Itā€™s readily available and ENCOURAGED (remember during the scamdemic when liquor stores were allowed to stay open in some states but gyms had to close?)

But most importantly, itā€™s been normalized as an emotional crutch.

And thatā€™s really why people do it, isnā€™t it?

Because they donā€™t love and trust themselves.

I mean seriously, think about the guys I played football with.

These were top-tier football players at a Power 5 program in the ACC.

Thereā€™s absolutely no reason they should have had ANY problem socializing at these events.

But they did.

In fact, many of these guys couldnā€™t even function at these parties and celebrations without a drink.

Even with all their status and accomplishments, these guys didnā€™t trust themselves or have the confidence to strike up a conversation with someone unless they were two or three beers deep.

If you guessed that yours truly did not partake in this behavior, youā€™d be correct.

So what made me different?

Why have I been able to make it through my teenage and adult life without drinkingā€¦

And why has it been so easy for me?

Well, first of all, I love and trust myself.

I had (and have) ZERO problems socializing without booze.

Why?

Because I know my worth as a person.

Because I trust myself to navigate any situation without relying on a crutch.

But itā€™s more than thatā€¦.

Itā€™s the fact that I have a MISSION.

I had a mission when I was an athlete trying to make it to the big time, and I have a mission now as a health coach trying to bring my vision of health and vitality to the world.

Itā€™s this sense of mission that makes everything so much easier and more clear.

And when I discovered that clarity, deciding whether to drink became abundantly obvious to me.

And I know it will for you too.

Best,

Hunter Williams

P.S. If youā€™re living an alcohol-free life, but your social circle is not, then maybe itā€™s time to get around better people.

Whatā€™s that?

You donā€™t know anyone who doesnā€™t drink?

I do šŸ™‹ā€ā™‚ļø

Not only is this the premiere group coaching platform in the biohacking world, but itā€™s also the premiere COMMUNITY for like-minded individuals to connect, share ideas, and form friendships.

Join 400+ men and women today looking to level up and live lives they can be proud of.